National Executive

National Executive

President – Michael  Reade
Vice-President – Helen Jowett
Immediate Past-President – Michael Parr
Treasurer – Sarah Adams
Secretary – Ben Gardiner

Committee – Michael Parr, Melissa Webb, Ian Civil, Alaina Campbell, Dinesh Varma, Tony Joseph, Mya Cubitt, Kate Dale, Savitha Bhagvan, Nicole Kelly

Conference Organising Committee

Kate Curtis (Chair), Tony Joseph, Alicia Jackson, Helen Jowett, Michael Parr, Ian Civil, Melissa Webb, Belinda Gabbe, Rebekah Ogilive.

Publication Committee

Ian Civil, Rebekah Ogilive and Michael Reade

Website Committee

Melissa Webb and Rebekah Ogilive

Research Committee

Kate Martin, Belinda Gabbe, Kate Curtis

Dr Kate Martin


Kate is a full-time General and Trauma Surgeon and has been at the Alfred Hospital since being awarded her fellowship in 2009. Her trauma-specific interests are resuscitation, abdominal, pelvic and chest trauma. She is the supervisor of General Surgical Education and Training for the Alfred Hub, as well as Director with the Early Management of Severe Trauma (EMST) and Definitive Surgical Trauma Care (DSTC) faculties. Kate is the secretary of ANAST - The Australian and New Zealand Association for the Surgery of Trauma and has been on the Australasian Trauma Society Executive since 2013.

Dr Tony Joseph

Immediate Past-President

Dr Joseph is the Director of Trauma (Emergency) and an Emergency Physician at Royal North Shore Hospital, Sydney. He was the chairperson of the Steering Committee for the formation of the Australasian Trauma Society in 1007. Dr Joseph's interests include the use of ultrasound in trauma and other emergent situations. He was involved in the drafting of the ATS' policy and credentialing guidelines for the use of ultrasound in trauma patients, which are in use state-wide. He has been the Chairperson of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM) Ultrasound Subcommittee and is the current Chair of the NSW Faculty of the ADEM as well as a member of the ACEM Council and the current chair of the ACEM Standards Committee.

Alicia Jackson


Alicia Jackson is a registered Nurse with over 26-years experience in Critical Care in the Public Health System. Alicia trained in Waterford Ireland, working in the County & City Infirmary and later in Waterford University Hospital, both Adults and Pediatrics. Working also in critical care in the UK and later in Australia. Her true passion over the last 15-years has been in trauma and the co-ordination of care of the multi-injured trauma patients in order for the best patient outcome.

Find our more about joining or renewing today